Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Ammo Direct Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Like Tree92Likes

Thread: My 7mm PRC is driving me nuts…

Another question. If your initial load was well over pressure, is it possible some part of the action has become fatigued and changed after 500 over pressure rounds? Same with the barrel. I have no knowledge on the possibility, others probably will.

I’d ditch the barrel and start again, get a true flight one or one from offshore.

I have one hardy barrel, it doesn’t shoot as well as I thought it should ( it’s ok but both my trueflights are mint shooters) and it copper fouled really bad at the start.
    Shut up, get out & start pushing!

My mate had virtually the same issue as you describe. He pretty much shot out his first barrel chasing his tail, initially shot .2-.3 reliably then started getting groups like you. The chassis had been skim bedded and instead of holding everything in place the action was moving which eventually after a few hundred rounds you could see witness marks in the bedding. Removed bedding and it shot fine again until his barrel was shot out a 100 or so shots later. His was a 7saum.
    The other thing I’d look at is the projectiles, I’ve never bothered weight sorting projectiles but I have done some weight sampling occasionally, I’ve seen a few posts claiming that hornady qc has dropped, maybe weigh and measure a few to see how consistent they are.
    Last edited by Plinky; 14-09-2024 at 03:02 PM.
    Tentman, keengunNic and Micky Duck like this.